Union Soldiers at Appomattox Court House
Union Soldiers at Appomattox Court House

Introduction - Civil War Facts

The American Civil War lasted for four bloody years. Fighting began at Fort Sumter in South Carolina in 1861 and ended in 1864 with the surrender of General Lee at Appomattox Court House in Virginia. There are numerous interesting Civil War facts listed on the pages of this website with information on many aspects of the War Between the States. You will find information on why the war started, where and when the major battles were fought, who the great union and confederate generals were, and much more. Some pages will list just a few facts (5 or 10) where as others will list 20, 30, 40 or even 50 facts. We will be constantly updating this site to make it as comprehensive as possible so that it will become a major source of information on all aspects of the American Civil War. Below the listed facts you will find a list of which states fought for the Union and which fought for the Confederacy

Click here for a great selection of books about the Civil War.

Interesting Civil War Facts - General Information

List of Confederate States

List of Union States

Interesting Civil War Facts - Conclusion

It should be noted that Delaware, Kentucky, Maryland, and Missouri did not secede from the Union but were not completely loyal to the Union side. The future states of Colorado, Dakota, Nebraska, New Mexico, Utah, and Washington were territories during the war that were loyal to the Union.

Please read the other pages of this site for more detailed information and facts on many different aspects of the American Civil War. We will be adding a lot more pages in the future so please come back and visit.